HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: The Dave Cullen Show

Galaxy Quest Review

2422 ratings | 33163 views
Support my work on Patreon: http://ow.ly/3ymWFu Support my work on MakerSupport: http://ow.ly/pJjS100RXtS PayPal Donations Welcome. Click here: http://goo.gl/NSdOvK Galaxy Quest is copyright of DreamWorks Pictures / Gran Via Productions My usage of portions of copyrighted films and imagery falls under fair use policy based on section 107 of the US copyright law. Not withstanding the provisions of sections 106 and 106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work for purposes of criticism, comment, review and news reporting is not an infringement of copyright. SUBSCRIBE TO THIS YOUTUBE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDVb4m_5QHhZElT47E1oODg KEEP UP ON SOCIAL MEDIA: BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/hybM74uIHJKf/ Gab: https://gab.ai/DaveCullen Minds.com: https://www.minds.com/davecullen
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (493)
cloverfield911 (2 days ago)
IT'S A BRILLIANT MOVIE
Scott Collins (7 days ago)
I agree with reviewer. I continue to love Galaxy Quest. It is a film that satarized and celebrated the Star Trek phenomenon perfectly.
Nathan Allen Pinard (9 days ago)
The Jumanji reboot kinda reminded me of this.
Michael Dignum (9 days ago)
Can you imagine this film with William Shatner in it?
Blutteufel (10 days ago)
Galaxy Quest is my favourite Star Trek movie.
OrgyAtMyPlaceNOW (16 days ago)
Love this movie. I need to to find a DVD copy with some special features and bloopers..
Glenn Given (24 days ago)
Excellent review. I watch this to see if there was negative criticism , but there wasn't any, which is cool.
danmar007 (27 days ago)
I love this film.
Sparky (1 month ago)
Sam Rockwell just did an amazing job in this. Also Alan Rickman(RIP).
kev brady (1 month ago)
you can tell it was made by real sci-fi fans!
Bill Anthony (1 month ago)
I had to be dragged kicking and screaming to see "Galaxy Quest." I'm not a Tim Allen fan, and I didn't have any interest in seeing a Star Trek parody. That being said-- Boy, was I wrong! Everything said in this review is exactly right. This movie really was a lot of fun, and well worth the time of any science fiction/Star Trek fan. On my personal 10-point scale, I rate this film a solid 9!
bobsacemento1125 (1 month ago)
My four year old son woke up the other morning quoting this movie. I heard him in the bed say "Whoa it's an alien planet. Is there air? You don't know"
Lens Hunter (1 month ago)
Never been a fan of Star Trek but this is one of my favorite movies.
MrPingn (1 month ago)
I thought Allen would have made a good captain too. Wouldn't complain about seeing him on a guest role at least.
CaptAssassin (1 month ago)
How dare you call the imaginary creatures “hideous aliens”. Lol
medexamtoolsdotcom (1 month ago)
If you have the DVD, be sure to check out setting the audio language to "Thermian". They dubbed the WHOLE movie in the squeaks and squawks of the alien "language". That movie was great. Also be sure to watch "Mystery Men", the other movie of the same season of the same caliper of parody. 1999 was a good year for sci fi movies at least. Also, WTF, you shouldn't have spoiled the whole damn movie! This isn't a review, this is just a big fat spoiler. I mean, I saw it already, damn near 20 years ago now, but if I hadn't, I might have been pretty pissed about the detail you go into about the ending.
TheWyrdSmythe (1 month ago)
Yes! _Galaxy Quest_ is in my all-time favorite five movies (of any kind). As you say, it’s a nearly perfect film, and it’s perfect on three levels. It’s a damn good SF comedy all on its own. It’s a near-brilliant, quite loving, very _accurate_ parody of Star Trek and it’s actors. And it’s a delicious, delightful love letter to true SF fans who always knew it was true and who get to save the day. It’s a film you can enjoy over and over; as you also say, it holds up very well.
William Wallace (1 month ago)
One of the best Sci-Fi films of all time.
Acid Reign (1 month ago)
100% agree, a great movie all around.
Skankhunt 42 (2 months ago)
Galaxy Quest was, what The Orville tried to be.
Kevinb1821 (2 months ago)
This is one of the family classics.
bonecanoe86 (2 months ago)
This is my second favorite Star Trek movie after Wrath of Khan....and it's not even a Star Trek movie.
Ekstij Amezie (1 month ago)
Actually, it's been accepted in the Canon. Doesn't really fit but ask the fandom, they have dubbed it an official Star Trek movie. I mean, how can we not :-)
Stoneysilence (2 months ago)
This is one of my favorite movies of all time. LOVE IT and feel it is a great commentary on Star Trek and it's fandom.
Sam Judge (2 months ago)
I adore the movie.
Liberty Prime (2 months ago)
Tim the Tool Man 🔨🔧🔩
Fuzzyscarfandmittens (2 months ago)
Loved this movie when it came out. It was as much an homage to Star Trek as it was complete piss take of the whole Trek phenomenon.
Chris Phillips (3 months ago)
Sam Rockwell is the best!
Captain L-Ron (3 months ago)
We have to get back to the ship before one of those things kills Guy!
I watched the Making Of the other day, and forget which producer said this, but I quote when talk about humour/comedy in shows/movies esp Orville etc - "When doing comedy, play it straight!", which is why GQ is funny! They're not telling jokes, waiting for punchlines etc, they are acting and the moments just end up being naturally funny, and not forced ;) I think a lot of shows etc miss this ideal...
Warner Bauer (3 months ago)
For what its worth, it really is one of the greatest comedies of all time.
David Mcmahon (3 months ago)
A great comedy action movie that still holds up well.
righthere27 (3 months ago)
How did I miss you cover this?? I love Galaxy Quest and would genuinely love to see Tim Allen as a ship captain since I saw this movie. Plus Tim Allen is just enjoyable to watch period.
KOWLOON城牆DREAMS (3 months ago)
I cannot believe people like this 11 am on a Sunday cheap shit movie. + Star Trek Insurrection did * not * suck.
Suryananda (3 months ago)
By Grabthars hammer, give me the codes mister Potter
Nick McCabe (3 months ago)
Tim Allen plays a great Shatner-like role without becoming a cartoon version of Shatner/Kirk. And like you said, the conflict between his character and Rickman's is excellent.
Ekstij Amezie (1 month ago)
"You scene-stealing hack!"
Kevin M. McNabb (3 months ago)
This movie and The Orville are my two favorite Star Trek movies hands down. Great review. We watch Galaxy Quest every Thanksgiving right after Trains, Planes, and Automobiles. It is a great holiday tradition that my daughter now does with her family. Good times.
The Joshua Bell Show (3 months ago)
This Movie was supposed to be a TV series to
Luca Brazi (3 months ago)
LOVE this movie
Arik Wolf (3 months ago)
I agree with every thing you said, except that it is not an original idea. In one of the "Best of Trek" books of fan fiction, that story was told: where Shatter, Nimoy et al found themselves transported to a "real" Enterprise. Galaxy Quest told it better.
787brx8 (3 months ago)
Star Trek TNG, DS9,VOYAGER, Galaxy Quest and many many movies/ tv shows were written by the same guy. His aunt used to live on Borg Drive in Sandy Utah and that is how they got their name. The Quark character is based on one of writer's friends, just with less flair.
Jerk (3 months ago)
Orville is horrendously bad. Period. its undebatable! That being said, ok ok, I can understand some retrospective reviewing but dont you think this is far to famous and well know to be able to add anything to what fans already know and feel about it..
joshjhutton (3 months ago)
"Have you never watched the show?"
Nasty McFipples (3 months ago)
A good sci fi movie needs a good story at it heart. Too much attention is often paid to flash and effects... at the expense of the story. This one got it right.
Dave Dave (3 months ago)
its absolutely brilliant! I watch it every couple of months and re live all the catch phrases. I know I'm sad but it is just about my most favourite film of all time!
beayn (3 months ago)
I recently told my wife I wanted to rewatch this. Oddly enough this video is recommended for me the next day? I'm not even subbed to this channel, only Computing Forever. Methinks google listened to my phone.
Nathan Clarke (3 months ago)
Also for the first scene of the old tv show part the film is framed like a tv show. then when it goes to the real world the framing moves out to normal movie size. And finally when he is sent back to earth in the pod and is put outside the ship for the first time the framing goes to full widescreen. It is subtle but working at a movie theater at the time it was noticable!
Kenneth Harkin (3 months ago)
Tony Shalhoub as Tech Sgt Chen was my favorite. Nothing phased him. Watch closely and you will notice every time they say his name he squints... BECAUSE HE WAS PLAYING AN ASIAN ON THE SHOW!!!! So frigging wrong yet so funny. Here are some great scenes. https://youtu.be/GKXwH_zX1ec Here is the squint but he does it whenever his name is said https://youtu.be/bI5hi4c4y9k?t=41s
Valami Izé (3 months ago)
This was a shitty review.
zardox78 (4 months ago)
When you lay the details out like that... damn. This concept really did require extensive suspension of disbelief. I mean, the aliens get a TV signal from space (a signal which would never actually make it that far in that time or with any clarity, but let's table that IRL issue), and they proceed to rebuild their entire society to reflect that audio-visual signal from space. And in a matter of what? 15 years? Talk about over-kill. Sci-fi issues aside, that is one hell of a leap. I mean, what if the signal they'd picked up had been episodes of CHiPs? Would they all be dressed like motorcycle cops? What if it had been Bosom Buddies? Of course that concept _is_ on par with some actual Star Trek episodes. Specifically the Nazi one and the mobster one. So there is that. You can't really accuse it of not being true to the spirit of Star Trek when you consider some of the ridiculous places the show actually went.
Graham Meek (4 months ago)
Love your work Dave.
Onis Nikalos (4 months ago)
I hear Rian Johnson is doing the sequal - it is rumoured to be subversive!
Onis Nikalos (4 months ago)
By Grabthars hammer - you shall be avenged!
David Espurvoa (4 months ago)
You nailed every point! Great review!
kirkpanzer (4 months ago)
Dude. You are missing the funnest guy in the movie. Tony Shalhoub I watched it once and just payed attention to him and busted a gut laughing. Then it's Rockwell then the rest of the crew I love this flick and watch it a lot.
It's the best Star Trek movie ever made.
Freelancer117 (4 months ago)
I think your review is pretty spot on. Entertaining and a fantastic, reverent parody of Star Trek.
camwyn256 (4 months ago)
By Throc'Tar's hammer; what a review
Robert Lockard (4 months ago)
The "classicly trained shakesperian actor" was not Leonard Nemoy, it was Patrick Stewart. Also, if you got butt hurt over how they portrayed Sci Fi fans, you need to go to a trek convention and keep track of how many times you think "wow, that's some crazy shit"...
patrick Katalenas (4 months ago)
i honestly completely forgot about this movie
waterdamnaged (4 months ago)
My only complaint was that gags were cut out to maintain the PG rating. Namely Shaloob's character being a stoner throughout the entire movie. His delivery of the dialogue is much funnier when you realize he's always stoned.
crichtonIASA (4 months ago)
Still waiting for a Babylon 5 review....
Aaron Greenfield (4 months ago)
This definitely should been a series, but I guess it sort of did in the form of the orville!
Adam Dunn (4 months ago)
That was a hell of a thing
Rift Vallance (4 months ago)
well I liked it ,but not exactly an original idea, there have been other sci-fi films centered around an alien race mistaking actors for real life heroes.
Ryan Johnson (4 months ago)
This was a great movie and wished that they made a sequel.
snarky Mc snarkface (4 months ago)
I think it is better today then when it was first released.
Joshua Calkins (4 months ago)
While I appreciated some parts of this, I am not sure what the audience was really supposed to be. I only came here because I know the movie, and thought you might have something compelling to say, so of course I don’t need any plot summary. Too much recap for me. Thanks though.
Daniel Glaubitz (4 months ago)
Concur!
M_ Hub (4 months ago)
Thank you!!
Philip Wells (4 months ago)
Demolition Man, Minority Report, and now Galaxy Quest. Someone has amazon prime.
Simon O'Conor (4 months ago)
Yeah Dave, great movie.
Brian Riley (4 months ago)
"Termites or something" Love this movie....
Brian Fuller (4 months ago)
I also liked this movie.
Carolyn Leshock (4 months ago)
OMG, Sam Rockwell kills me every time in this flick! LOL! Great Cast!
DonJuan Yates (4 months ago)
Carolyn Leshock is there air!?!? You don’t know!!! *holds breath•. Funniest part of the movie for me.
Eric Sageser (4 months ago)
I like Lt. Tawny Madison's BOOBS!
thunberbolt two (4 months ago)
BVetter than all the jj verse movies.
Wyrmshadow (4 months ago)
Signourny Weaver looked awesome as a blonde.
DonJuan Yates (4 months ago)
Wyrmshadow indeed
Jeremiah Kane (4 months ago)
This movie is incredible, loved it since I was a kid & still do to this day. Is it just me, or is Sigourney Weaver ridiculously hot in this movie? She's always been an attractive woman but in this film she is even more so, maybe I just like her more as a blonde.
Jeff Card (4 months ago)
the only good thing Tim Allen has done
Hans Zarkov (4 months ago)
i really enjoy galaxy quest every time i watch it. but it is important to keep in mind that 'space' travel is not possible. the surface of the earth is flat. the earth is covered by an impenetrable dome. the sun, moon, and stars are very small and actually inside the dome. outside of the dome is water
Trey Liles (4 months ago)
I was 4 years old when this movie came out and i loved it back then. I still love it almost 20 years later.
Henry Lawrence (4 months ago)
Loved it.
Matt Rouge (4 months ago)
Good review! Yep, it's brilliant.
Shutterpillow (4 months ago)
Please don't do a reboot or a sequel
MoeSlislack (4 months ago)
I love this movie. I never get tired of seeing it. weever is much hotter as a blonde and I love pretty much every movie Sam Rockwell has ever been in.
Richard Jefferies (4 months ago)
Agree completely. I think the whole cast brought their A-games, and none of them looked like they were phoning it in.
TheRoidemortetfleur (4 months ago)
alara is being caned from the orville oh, i hope that isn't true.
Saxon Sidu (4 months ago)
This was one of my favorite movies when i was a kid
Christopher Gaizat (4 months ago)
This movie is genuine and a Great movie. Loved every minute of it. I used to go to the Star Trek con in Indianapolis every year. Depicted perfectly.
Harrison11106 (4 months ago)
The minefield in space I think was another ode to a cult classic sci fi movie, namely The Last Starfighter. The minefield is pretty much an exact duplicate of the Frontier from that film.
TheZXKUQYB (4 months ago)
Damn I just watched for the n+1 times ± a few years in between, it truly is one of the best comedy sci-fi movie out there. It had always been a favorite with me. Sam Rockwell, Tim Allen and Justin Long ± Monk are the best parts of it.
Phantasmed and more (4 months ago)
nice review but I had to stop it, you were spoiling it by telling every single thing that happens that is no a review that is a run down of the entire film...I am about to watch it..so I just wanted to know if people thought it was any good. ;)
Justme Here (4 months ago)
By far one of my favorite movies
llewellRsA (4 months ago)
A definite classic.
dzone82 (4 months ago)
"By Grabthor's Hammer...what. A. Savings." By the end of the movie, he *still* manages to give that line the pathos it needs. I miss the hell out of Alan Rickman. Sigourney Weaver's complete meltdown while they're going through the chompy, crushy hallway also remains one of my favorite moments. "This episode was badly written!!!" For me, the key to my love for this movie is, as you also mentioned, that it's a *loving* send-up of Star Trek/Sci-Fi. It's one of the reasons I also love "Shaun of the Dead" so much. It's another movie that clearly loves the genre it's parodying. Too many other movies fell into the trap of believing that "how awful is *this* genre, huh?!?" is comedy gold. It's not. Why the hell would I want to spend 90 minutes watching a move the filmmakers clearly believe is beneath them?
sulkow82 (4 months ago)
Tim Allen has also said the he would have loved to actually play serious science fiction if it was done in the tone of previous Star Trek shows. I agree he would make an excellent Star Trek captain partly because he loves the genre and the themes the show addresses.
Namu Griff (4 months ago)
Are we there yet? See you got your shirt off again. A couple great Alan Rickman lines in the film.
Ekstij Amezie (4 months ago)
This is the Airplane! of Star Trek and it's so good, it's considered canon. I had the great fortune of seeing it in theatres and then I also bought it. It does *such* a good job casting, the actors are each stars in their roles and don 't miss a beat -- and it's just *funny* with so many quotable lines. I *lost it* at the line, Can't you make a rudimentary lathe?
Sundaydish1 (4 months ago)
I usually only buy films on iTunes if it's a film I've seen before and liked enough to pay Apples ridiculous high prices. Galaxy Quest is one of them.
Bosun Higgs (4 months ago)
One of my favorite sight gags is when Nesmith and DeMarco see the "chompers," DeMarco cries, "Well, screw that!" Only it is obvious from watching her lips that "screw" is not what Weaver said on the set. I'm guessing that this obvious over-dub was an intentional gag.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.