HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: The Dave Cullen Show

Solo: A Star Wars Story Review (Spoilers)

1685 ratings | 21143 views
Support my work on Patreon: http://ow.ly/3ymWFu Support my work on MakerSupport: http://ow.ly/pJjS100RXtS PayPal Donations Welcome. Click here: http://goo.gl/NSdOvK SUBSCRIBE TO THIS YOUTUBE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDVb4m_5QHhZElT47E1oODg KEEP UP ON SOCIAL MEDIA: BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/hybM74uIHJKf/ Gab: https://gab.ai/DaveCullen Minds.com: https://www.minds.com/davecullen
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (390)
StormFront WolfTrap (6 hours ago)
Why do people think lando wanted to screw the robot? i wish people could have a relationship with the opposite sex without eveyone assuming that they want to screw or that they will (robot or otherwise)
Diego Alfredo (16 hours ago)
lewding robots is wrong.
wingitprod (16 hours ago)
Ron Howard is a fine filmmaker. I wish he had helmed the others. JAr JAr Abrams is a hack.
Sarah Dain (19 hours ago)
I enjoyed the 2nd Tron, but Disney just doesn't do deep plots, any any character development is so short it's just odd NOT there. U heard another guy say it's like ROTJ Han before ANH.
wretched17 (2 days ago)
Oh boy I can't wait for the Jar Jar Binks origin story and his non-binary journey...
Kubomi (2 days ago)
It wasn't as bad as i thought it would be, but the pacing seemed off in the first act, which isn't something i normally even complain about; The speeder chase didn't come off as suspenseful at all.
Tigerhawk30 (2 days ago)
Apologies if this has already been pointed out, but I have to disagree with the Qi'ra wasn't saved/can't be saved arc on this one...Vos saved her from the situation that she and Han were trying to escape from at the beginning. He lords this over her a couple of times, and while she backstabs him in the end to take the syndicate over, he still points it out and she agrees. Especially since the unspoken theme there is that she owes Vos a sort of life debt due to him plucking her out of Corellia.
Leon Hostad (3 days ago)
I didn't get the impression at all that Lando had feelings for L337, but that the other way round was implied.
selena8472 (3 days ago)
wow you the first and *the most neutral and objective* reviewer I have watched to date I can't completely agree and can't completely disagree but that's how things are right??
Tax Payer (4 days ago)
It’s a fine movie. Get over yourselves. It’ll always be better than Ewoks of the eighties.
Afiq Hamid (4 days ago)
Qira sucked dick to get to where she was.
cmealy2011 (4 days ago)
Soylo was an embarrassment to SW. Full on SJW propaganda
plainbob V.2 boo (5 days ago)
It's shit. Pure and simple.
Dark. Duke (5 days ago)
L3-37 is SJW feminists parody of Kathleen Kennedy.
typeviic1 (5 days ago)
Again, how can this guy review sci-fi and not have anything about the reimagined Battlestar Galactica series?!?!
greenmonsterprod (5 days ago)
Personally, I enjoyed this movie a lot.  And the reason Han doesn't seem as tough as he did in the original movie is because this one takes place about ten years earlier.  I think it's safe to say Han's criminal life in the interim toughened him considerably.
igelkott255 (5 days ago)
Han was pretty clueless about the big picture in the original trilogy also. He was manipulated by Chewie, Leia and obiwan so I think that aspect was appropriate.
Remy (5 days ago)
Honestly, i never saw any romantic love interest between lando and L3. Besides her saying so. He mourned over her but droids are like pets in starwars. Im sure luke loves R2 but not romantically
Enough HL (5 days ago)
You know feminist, when the time comes where you need assistance, good luck with getting it from any male with a functioning brain. I could care less about you vile creatures.
Trent Baker (6 days ago)
I felt there was something off about Alden's portrayal of Solo and I think Cullen nails it. Solo, as portrayed by the younger Harrison Ford was very much an Alpha male, but in his origin story he isn't and we don't even get a hint of the transition either. The movie felt like it was adapted from someones RPG Star Wars game it was written so clumsily, with the actors reacting to rather than driving the narrative.
wargreymon xtreme11 (6 days ago)
Hollywood is too sjw to let a prince to save the princess in storytelling that ruins movies.
Jorundr Hrafnsson (6 days ago)
How did you not mention Alden Ehrenreich's gigantic head on top of those skinny-jean-ready legs of his?
Sniff Heinkel (6 days ago)
Lando has Robo Fever.
Joseph Adam (6 days ago)
As is often the case, people blame writers and assume all bad choices were their fault. As someone who has gotten commissioned to write scripts for various low budget indie houses, I can tell you truly, the producers and ultimately the director have FAR more control over the final product than the writers. Especially in the big tent pole franchises where entire comities make decisions. I often wish reviewers would just use the word "filmmakers." As in, "What were the filmmakers thinking?" Rather than, "What were the writers thinking?" Since placing such specific blame is often unwarranted.
Frank Bowman (6 days ago)
I suspect that the terms "alpha male" and "beta male" were invented by a feminist woman who wanted to keep men divided.
space man reviews (6 days ago)
Perfect review
Ray Sullivan (6 days ago)
For all we know, maybe THIS Lando had a bad upbringing and had a droid as a friend. Perhaps L3 was that friend or maybe she came later!?LOL... As for Kiera, while she ultimately wasn't save by Solo, she was still saved by a man, the villain in this case and its a worse situation because he could easily have her killed without a second thought if she failed him.
Josith13 (7 days ago)
Thing is, 9/10 girls have no interest "rescuing" a guy lols, so that's purely an imagined narrative to push forward
Reverend scumlord (7 days ago)
Not going to watch the film or Dave Cucklens "review" ........... I have however heard that there's a bit of gayness somewhere in the film so it's safe to assume that this review consists of a triggered far right ginger crybaby balling his eyes out for 8:15 mins about - "political correctness gone mad ............. it's the feminists! ................. it's the blacks ...... the Jews ..... the Muslims............ the commies! " ............... cry more Dave you pathetic sniveling little far right weakling, there's a reason why you dirty little subhumans don't get far right movies ...... there's a reason why there are no decent far right musicians (since Wagner), no successful far right countries ........... there's a reason why you can't get laid ..... there's a reason why you always lose at war ................ YOU are inferior Dave :-) The far right are the inferior race, they are stupid, they are weak, they are talentless, they have no culture, they believe they have a right to force their beliefs on to others, they try to hold back progress both socially an technologically, these are not human traits,............... they are genuine subhumans, they even promote incest to keep themselves inferior!
Reverend scumlord (21 hours ago)
No, far right is pretty much anyone that spends their time crying about gays, different races, other religions, trannys, women ....... basically anyone that gets triggered by other peoples freedom ........ have fun finding another strawman you hilarious little incel prick :D
Aglaya Majorem (23 hours ago)
Reverend scumlord "Far right"...yes anything right to Stalin and Mao must be!
Ri3m4nn (8 days ago)
L337... leet?
stephen carroll (8 days ago)
Thank God I didn't see this Beta movie
Hobarth McShane (8 days ago)
Dave, Dave, Dave... Have to disagree. This was a BAD movie. It was a leaky bucket of steaming hot sick. Absolute tosh.
Julian Donohoe (8 days ago)
Superb review here. Thanks for attempting to be balanced, but it still appears to something I do not want to support in any way, shape or form.
Jay Thompson (8 days ago)
i honestly think that the producers and writers of this film are so racist and deluded that they don't know that they're deluded and racist. hear me out. i've spent years of my life dealing with black americans. there is a diametric mindset between being black in america and being a black american. the way to tell the differences are a black american is someone like Dr. Booker T. Washington, Col. Alan West, Sheriff David Clarke, while those of the mindset of "being black in america" are Colin Kaepernick, Daniel Glover aka Young Gambino, members of BlackLivesMatter etc... now those of the mindset of "being black in america" perpetuate and perpetrate the stereotype that black men will stick their dick into anything with a hole and by turning the Billy D. Williams Lando, a suave, debonair and savvy character into the petulant, emotionally debased and sexually deviant Lando, portrayed by Daniel Glover, the writers and producers perpetuate a despicable stereotype. think back to the Clinton administration and their solution to curb black criminal youth by offering "Midnight Basketball". how did the old joke go? "How do you stop 4 black guys from raping a white girl? You throw them a basketball".
Peter Kazavis (8 days ago)
Glad this tanked
lee johnson (9 days ago)
Soylo A beta male story
lee johnson (9 days ago)
Soylo a beta male story
Devonic (9 days ago)
I though Han being “weak” made sense. He was part of the imperial military in which he was pushed around and looked down upon. And finally escapes with that little criminal team. He isn’t much of a leader, and just kind of follows Becket. But going into the middle of the plot, he starts to become more of a leader with Chewy showing more of his traits of following Han and protecting him, and later being allowed to fly the Millenium Falcon. After he flies the kessel run in 12 parsecs, he branches out and becomes much more confident and leader-like. And it all ends with him deciding to kill Becket—finally showing him to make big decisions on his own without another leader, while metaphorically killing that leader from the past.
Tuppy Brill (10 days ago)
What I think would be interesting would be if you or David Stewart (or both as he has a different style in film reviews) did reviews of episodes 5 and 6 especially looking at them as if they were new movies made by Disney. I think there would be lots of negative points especially around Ewoks! note, I am no fan of the new films but suspect that a lot of the negativity surrounding them is subjective and nostalgia based.
Tom Barnes (10 days ago)
I swear, Solo is gonna go down as the most underrated SW movie under Disney's production. It felt like the things I loved about the previous three movies; TFA had a great setup, R1's great ending, and the beauty of TLJ. The humor in Solo was very SW, the music was amazing, and the story felt pretty solid to me. Not saying it doesn't have problems, they're just just more subtle than the others. Plus the droid felt more of a parody than virtue signaling, and Lando didn't seem like a pan to me, he just cared for L3 like Luke would R2...or are they pans too? I do also like the Luke-esque touch they gave Han, it just gives a bit more reason to see why Han saw potential in Luke. He saw himself in the kid. Overall, I'll probably buy the DVD. I'll give it a *7.6/10*
Hank Moody (10 days ago)
Lando looks like a pretentious self absorbed faggot in this poster. They really fucked up Star Wars
Dirk Starbuck (10 days ago)
Thank you for acknowledging, and properly characterizing, Han’s demise in ST:TFA; a death worthy of Chef from South Park. Such disrespect for the original characters was the end of Star Wars for me.
Derek McManus (10 days ago)
lol that Renault advert makes me want to watch Solo then sanity reassert itself
Average Joe (10 days ago)
Han seemed like a secondary character in his own movie. Even the end, he doesn’t fight, some woman does. What a sad treatment of the origin story of Han Solo.
trmblingblustar (10 days ago)
Very fair review, and sums up my feelings about the film. It wasn't horrible, but didn't have anything to make a person think "I gotta see this". I disagree about the DVD bargain bin, though. Don't buy this on DVD. Ever. :-)
thetrue wise gamer (10 days ago)
Ok im going to throw an idea out maybe they should have made therobot l3 i think cant remember names I think could do something awesome talk about the position of robots in the Star Wars universe because I've always wondered wait I think we're about to have personality and free will yes I think they do because they get the chew thing that could go against what they are been programmed to do unless full memory wipe and the big the big question of how does everyone else see robots in this world and elfring could have been like" you look down on us cuz you made us why you gave us free will so what the f*** is wrong with you and that we should be able to choose what we should want to do" if they done that I would have been fine with her as a character but no she represents something worse Miss potential she could have been a lot of things but no they didn't do that
Jamie Siple (10 days ago)
it is a fun movie to see not great
Ricardo Santos (10 days ago)
So Low.
AnEvilJoke (10 days ago)
Emilia Clarke is a shit actor
J Star (11 days ago)
This movie is not worth seeing & was just more garbled trash by the left-media.
CthulhuChow (11 days ago)
nobody want any donglover. and i can't see this "han solo" getting Princess Leia's panties wet.
Mug Gum (11 days ago)
Thanks Dave! You just saved me Twenty-odd bucks on this Turkey.
Neil Harbott (11 days ago)
While the movie isn't a train wreck - it does contain one. But I'm gonna go out on a limb here - if you want a train job done properly Malcolm Reynolds is your man.... along with Jayne and Zoe!
Dave Knaus (11 days ago)
I fell asleep listening to your recap of the movie. Which is better than falling asleep having paid $10 to see this.
TheEmanExperience (11 days ago)
I refuse to watch solo and will be "borrowing" the rest of the movies like episode 9 online
Daniel's Hot Topics (11 days ago)
I prefer Strong Women over Damsels in distress, Dave Cullen/Fake intellectual why don't you like Strong Women is I because they scare you?
Aglaya Majorem (23 hours ago)
Daniel's Hot Topics I prefer better written characters like Sarah Conner and Ellen Ripley not ones done by lazy hacks masquerading with agenda drivel.
Cam Alft (11 days ago)
solo beta cuck...i mean solo beta cup......solo;the cucks man....what a shit show.
XR40 (11 days ago)
Solo, I wouldn't even pirate you....
The Smoking Dog (11 days ago)
I'm surprised you didn't realise the huge differences between how Lando acts in Empire Strikes Back and this film toward droids. In Empire he is completely uninterested in hearing what a droid has to say. C3-P0 when first meeting him attempts to talk to Lando but is ignored, later when C3-P0 is dismantled Lando really wasn't concerned and simply remarked if they were having trouble with their droid. This film makes it so Lando would first be concerned about droids, and then years later shows no sort of emotional reaction to them being destroyed or harmed. As if Lando had decided to forget his attachment to L337, and begin treating droids as just mindless machines. Not a very positive image of Lando. The film is decent, but it doesn't feel like it really has anything to do with Han Solo, and the actor isn't believable as Han. Chewbacca is the only character that seems to be exactly like how he is in the original films.
The Smoking Dog (11 days ago)
Apparently there are rumors that Kathleen Kennedy may step down as head of Lucasfilm. Disney may be secretly forcing her to resign due to the losses and fan reaction to these recent films.
MrYodafox (11 days ago)
Dude it costs like a fiver to see this in the cinema, wtf are you telling people to wait until it's in the bottom of a bargain bin? Fucking hell it's a fun film, go see it star wars fans. It's ten times better than last jedi, and that one where everyone dies and those 2 kids beach cuddle to a nuke going off and hide in a fridge but at the end it turns out they are Mayan Aliens but Vader does a force choke and the director delivers the death star plans to a CGI Aunt Beru. Yeah and that fan fiction one that had high production values and lots of cocained up actors " trying to catch the energy" of the original and it's plot, those computer space octopuses were almost as amazing as how there is probably a youtube channel somewhere where you can watch bread dough rise live. So fuck the mainstream critics, fuck the youtube critics, fuck the so called hardcore star wars fans opinions, go and see this is the best of the Disney ones by a long way.
Lunch Box (11 days ago)
Why is providing a summary of a movie more and more becoming a 'review' nowadays?
Will Higgins (11 days ago)
How was Keira SJW!? He mentions regret over horrible actions almost constantly through the movie. Not what you would call a empowering figure? And Han found on that ship because it was integral to the plot. You even said you liked how her back story was left to the imagination. And Han trying to help her pay off whatever debt he thought she so they could be together sure sounds like a ‘ Dansel in distress’ plot?
mr8ty8 (11 days ago)
Not a huge star wars fan.Aside from spending thousands of hours in SWTOR,doing PvP. The Movie is good. Fully in line with the lore and for those that claim Solo act's like a Beta cause he is a womanizer.Well,For one this is young solo, And she is his 1st and only true love. Leia was just a side skank,to pass the time and Leia was too poor to pay for abortion after Alderaan got blown up by the Empire. Prostitution was her way out
Arno Wisp (11 days ago)
Dave have you learned nothing from SJWs. Weirdoes are oppressed. They've been oppressed for a long time by normal society.
Craig Smith (11 days ago)
This is a brilliant watch. Solo: A Star Wars Story Pitch Meeting. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQs_Oy9JRys&t=1s
commander gree (12 days ago)
im just sick of them not respecting the lore and i have to say out of all the disney ones this one respects the lore the most
MGTOWk (12 days ago)
Soylo: A Beta Story. The Great Train Robbery in space pushing regressive narratives and destroying your childhood notions of who these characters were in a long, drawn out attempt to explain a 40 year old flub where Han accidentally refers to a measure of distance as if it were a measure of time. There may be peg legged, eyepatched alternatives to paying Disney for making this filth, but you should still consult a chiropractor after the cringe of watching this excuse for a film.
Evan Davies (12 days ago)
L3 is NOT lando’s love interest! L3 says he has feelings for her which is laughably absurd... which is the point. Lando says he would wipe the droid if it didn’t have such good navigation data. (And yes he does lament the loss of his companion later on, but its clearly not romantic imo.) You can’t can him pan-sexual based on one baseless comment by L3.
Jeff NewRetro (12 days ago)
SOLO is HOLLOW
Keith Gardeck (12 days ago)
It's pronounced, "phil-im" and Ireland isn't a country...not really, anyway.
Evan Crissinger (12 days ago)
Dave, I really love your vids! You have one of those voices that grabs you (not like a pansexual grab)!
Emmett Turner (12 days ago)
Sorry, but I have to object to all the YouTuber commentaries that contain spoilers and still call themselves “reviews.” That isn’t the purpose of a review for a current movie. It’s supposed to help us decide what to see, not discuss where it went wrong. It would be better described as commentary, discussion, or impressions video. People have been so loose that “review” on YouTube has almost lost the original context/meaning.
Andrew Griffiths (12 days ago)
Like Star Trek (films or TV), Star Wars has just become 'another action scfi/fantasy offering' with all the SJW rubbish added in to keep people away. They used to an 'event' - not any more. I bet those running the conventions and making/selling merchanise will be getting more worried as things get worse in both these failing franchises. Wallet power obviously works. Perhaps they will (eventually) listen to us, even if its an uncomfortable process to bear.
i7fan (12 days ago)
Exactly. Female characters today are never vulnerable or have flaws/weaknesses, and they are super cocky and knows whats up at all times. It makes it very one sided, boring and frankly stupid. Men are still stronger and there are bad and dangerous men out there so women being perfect and not afraid of anything also makes it unrealistic. Not to talk about not having any flaws/weaknesses. We all have them. Dumb writing for the sake of feminism. Unwatchable for me personally. Cant stand it. Takes me out of the movie world. BTW having been with several women i have met my fair share of naive women who thinks everyone is good. I have not met any (as i recall) men that were that naive. So seeing men on the screen who are beta and naive, basically playing a female role - is dumb.
TrueCarthaginian (12 days ago)
You completely missed the mark here. It's a completely shit movie. Sure. Watch this film if you want to see an iconic character be violently raped by Disney.
Adamantium Scorpion (12 days ago)
Boycott So lo.
Lennis01 (12 days ago)
The movie was good enough to see in a theater, but not more than once. Not a bad film, not a great film. The reason it's doing poorly at the box office has less to do with the film itself and more to do with off-screen political nonsense and long-delayed backlash against The Last Jedi.
Jade Praerie (12 days ago)
You're too kind to this movie.
Glen Jackson (12 days ago)
Sorry but no true star wars fans accept any of this bullshit as cannon, the true characters ended when lucas sold to the disney wankers
James Nash (12 days ago)
She isn't a "she" Dave. The black dude that used to be cool now fucks a talking roomba. Hilarious.
Ryan MacFarlane (12 days ago)
Han Soylo
Red Alert (12 days ago)
Oi! Oooi! Slow down buddy! I'm sure there's a ton of Apple fanboys out there that have a very special and intimate relationship with their Siri ...
Omlette du Fromage (12 days ago)
I'm with you on the Lando-robot love arc. it's weird and doesn't belong, however having seen the Spike Jonze movie "Her" made it somewhat more palatable,.
Tadicuslegion78 (12 days ago)
George Lucas: WOW I made some bad decisions with the prequels. Disney: Hold my blue milk
YarugumaSou (6 days ago)
Green milk
sun cunt (10 days ago)
Jar Jar is the key to all of this.
Kenny Powers (12 days ago)
Soy Milk*
Eric Santucci (12 days ago)
To be fair, I personally saw Qi'ra as having far less of the ham-fisted feminism that we've seen with other recent female Star Wars characters like Rey and Admiral Holdo. She has an explanation for her martial arts abilities and she sucked at co-piloting the Falcon and literally need Chewie to take over for her. L3-37 on the other hand...
rofyle (12 days ago)
It's a wonder these retarded SJW writers didn't turn Han into a sexual deviant too and make him and Chewbacca lovers.
MrMustache (12 days ago)
By this point it doesn't matter if the movie was good or not. If the company holding the brand is incredibly hostile to its consumer case, nobody will want to watch it
deathdog1392 (12 days ago)
I hate Emilia Clarke
K2k4 (12 days ago)
The production problems you mentioned are part of why the awkward lando droid love existed - theres a theory that lorde and miller (the original directors) were making the relationship a big funny joke setup that you were meant to laugh at when it pays off with the droid "dying". But the next director ron howard stripped the humor away and tried to make it all a drama instead.
Steve Harte (12 days ago)
I breathed a sigh of relief when that God awful robot got killed. We don't need a new droid in every Star Wars film.
Ian Farnbach (12 days ago)
Gotcha and thanks.
Trijedi Knight (12 days ago)
You know what this implies right? Lando being pan sexual and wanting to make love to his toaster oven, it could be a sign that he's some sort of intense space weeb whose fawning over some waifu he brought to life because most women in this galaxy don't want to date him. Wow, that's impressive...they took one of the most suave lady's men in all of cinema and turned him into a desperate weeb. Look, I get it...some people just find animated girls attractive while others take it too far cause they're lonely and pretend they're real people It's not my place to judge. But we can all agree that from the first few films we know Lando is not like that; in fact he looked like he slayed every night. It's sad to see one of the most charismatic men who millions of women fawned over for decades and millions of men looked up to be reduced to this.
thedarknesscallingme (12 days ago)
Think i'll wait till they show it on TV in two years time
Martian Dawn (12 days ago)
Billy Dee Williams was black sex symbol in the 1970s, renowned for the suave way he handled the ladies. That came through in his portrayal of Lando. Turning him into a weirdo who gets his rocks off with a robot feels like a slap in the face to straight, black men and women.
PretendingSleep (12 days ago)
Main faults: - Solo is a inconsistent beta soy boy, overall immature and useless, but when needed the best in the universe...also fought in the imperial army for 3 years and suffered no character change, - All female characters are inconsistent exaggerated feminists, - The future rebellion leader is a teenager, - Qi'ra, played by a bad actress, from a bottom feeder slave became a lieutenant and finally the leader of a huge criminal organization, in just a three years and with no explanation...apparently she did a lot of very bad things but her character didn't changed that much, - "Robots are people too" subplot
au jack (13 days ago)
Han knows how to speak Wookiee, they would have throw in just one line super short scene where he ran into one of them enslaved on the shipyard planet and set that up. The writers today has lost their ability to build a plot with proper setup and pay off, so does large no of the audience who watch them.
Graham Meek (13 days ago)
Horrible boring movie. Good acting.
M.G. Leal (13 days ago)
I really wanted some more details about the criminal underground that these characters were a part of. I also wanted Han to be more selfish instead of the unbearably naive flyboy they portrayed. He grew up on the streets under the thumb of a crime lord! You’d think he’d be just a little more cut throat. Also the “I was kicked out of the academy because I had I mind of my own” made me giggle. Really? You got kicked out for being a “free thinker”? I would’ve thought the Han Solo I know & love would get kicked out because he’s reckless, doesn’t follow orders, has a big mouth, and he possibly stole shit and sold it on the black market.
Recorded To The Max (13 days ago)
Shillllll.........kidding. Nice review thanks.
biggreenmachine2007 (13 days ago)
Don’t you have one pound discount movie theaters in Ireland? When I was first married my wife and I would go to the dollar theatre (one ticket for a dollar) on Tuesdays when it was half off. You only got to see movies that had been out for three or four months but it was better than paying full fare for schlock. I think I’d pay a dollar to see Solo but anymore than that is just too much.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.