HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: Nostalgia Nerd

Sinclair ZX Spectrum Story & Review (Part 3) - Spectrum Games! | Nostalgia Nerd

390 ratings | 20079 views
Part 3 of the Sinclair ZX Spectrum Review & Story. This episode focusses on the Games themselves (admit it, this is the part you wanted to see!). (links to follow)
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (52)
jdgonzo1982 (3 months ago)
i highly recommend CJ The Elephant and CJ in the USA(?) - Great platformers :)
Gianluca Badejo (3 months ago)
That website doesn't exist !
Bartuc Samplambio (5 months ago)
Dat Keygen music is nostalgic.
TheRacingGameGuy (5 months ago)
I guess the website doesn't work anymore then! :P
Joaquim Carneiro (6 months ago)
no Chuckie Egg? muhahahahaaaa
jai mal au derrier (9 months ago)
Love the good ole' Speccy!
wexoni (10 months ago)
Close to the video end you do mention a site with random games. I was unable to find it. Could you please list it? :) and these are awesome videos. They hit the nostalgia spot. Thank you for making them
Ed Jones (11 months ago)
Www.scienceofcambridge.com seems to be down :(
Gonzo Gaming (1 year ago)
Dun Darach was a favourite of mine, then Barry Mcguigans boxing.
jmm1233 (1 year ago)
Dizzy is best series of games
Luca Alister (1 year ago)
This was a good little retrospect on a gaming computer brand that was completely unheard of over here in the states. Over on this continent the landscape was already dominated by the likes of Atari, Apple, and Commodore so I guess there was just no room for sinclair's machine to expand over here. A Lot of us yanks only really found out what the Spectrum was and what impact it left in the UK by the likes of guru Larry bringing it up in his videos, I was scratching my head thinking, what is this so called ZX Spectrum thing and why haven't I heard of it before? Another was when I was looking up the history of Rare (one of my favorite oldschool game developers) and found out they were once a company called Ultimate and started out developing games for a gaming computer only released in the UK, for alot of us here we only knew about Jetjac from that section in Donkey Kong 64 where you have to play it in Kranky's Lab.
Matthew Carson (1 year ago)
Science of cambridge doesn't load anymore 😭 also quick question, does the 128k models of the spectrum play all the games available for the spectrum? Like would the 128 or +2
James D (1 year ago)
Enjoyed the video, great to see some excellent-looking Spectrum games that I've never heard of before.
AsteroideZX (1 year ago)
"Freddy Hardest" is easy and fun, with 2 different phases in the same game. Good video *except for that sad gameplay of Freddy... o_O" hehehe. Greetings from Madrid (Spain). :-)
P Ferreira (1 year ago)
I think the first game I ever played was Chuckie Egg on the ZX Spectrum 128K. Great videos by the way!
tHeWasTeDYouTh (1 year ago)
wish you make a video like this for the Amstrad, Acorn and Atari computers!!!!
Neffers (1 year ago)
GUNFIGHTER! What a game I loved playing that - on my mates grey +2
Ross TheNinja (2 years ago)
I had the plus 3 and didn't know that powering off without ejecting the disk would wipe it
BertyFromDK (1 year ago)
I have a +3 as well, but that sort of thing has never happened to me... except one time when my dodgy fridge sent out a huge spike on the mains grid, which caused the boot sector on one of my disks to become corrupt.To my amazement, it resulted in the disk becoming totally inaccessible; i couldn't even reformat it! It wasn't until i typed in, and modified, a 'recovery' program designed to unerase deleted files, which i subsequently disassembnled and converted into a rudimentary disk editor, that i found what had gone wrong. It turned out that the very first byte of the bootsector had been overwritten with a zero, and when i restored that single byte to its original value the disk became fully functional again.
Rick Ibbott (2 years ago)
If I'd been good and got my £2 pocket money, I was straight into town to get myself a £1.99 game from the market. I had 1p left for 2 half penny sweets!! bargain. One thing that sticks out for me about the Speccy, I can still remember the music from a game called Chronos which, at the time, blew me away as I couldn't believe what I was hearing out of that tiny little beeper.
Stephen Blower (2 years ago)
Some original game favorites on the Spectrum, great to see, rather than the usual.
John Dukes (2 years ago)
so sorry you guys got stuck with that and the c64 over there as the main platforms instead of the nes...
todesziege (1 month ago)
BertyFromDK: The NES actually got Basic too - though of course only in Japan.
BertyFromDK (1 year ago)
Good luck writing your own programs on a NES!
lordsofkoble (2 years ago)
Yeah what ever mate. You never had "Trap Door" on TV or the NES which we had too anyway Neer neer!
SumeaBizarro (2 years ago)
I flipped my head when I heard "spectrum classics ... Such as SCHOOL DAYS" - Had to intantly flip my head to see it was SCHOOL DAZE
Guilherme (2 years ago)
I wonder why you love so much ZX spectrum. Its not a console from my time but i like.
SuperNorstShow (2 years ago)
I really want to import a speccy from the UK. Not an easy task to get that working here in the US but its a very intriguing console. I would say my intrest stems mostly from Rare Replay where I got to experience some of those from the first time. I think most US gamers find the spectrum a bit too primitive, but I love seeing developers make excellent use of limited hardware.
lordsofkoble (2 years ago)
I grew up with it and have fond memories but still thing it's very primative to the point I draw the line here. Not often I go back to it though a few titles wet my tempt me.
Seans Colossus (2 years ago)
Perfect video great editing five stars
Kandi Gloss (2 years ago)
I'm surprised that Peter Pack Rat even got to the spectrum... or anywhere for that matter, It's a conversion of a very obscure/rare atari arcade game. Looking further into it, there were also conversions for the C64 and Amstrad CPC, strange, considering how obscure the original game was it's self.
Nostalgia Nerd (2 years ago)
+Kandi Gloss But then the 80s were packed to the brim with obscurity! That's why it was soooo great! :D
MikeNeo (2 years ago)
Could be any chance you make a video about the SAM Coupé?
Thomas Long (2 years ago)
Great vids on a great system.
greyxfox (2 years ago)
omg skool daze and renegade were my alltime fave games back then.
swordghoti (2 years ago)
Modern day so-called aesthetic types may diss the Spectrum for its slightly underpowered capabilities, but, as you alluded to in the vid, critics miss a key point in the machine's appeal. The games, most particularly in the early years, were created by people who were barking mad, and the games reflected that peculiarity. It's a massive part of why the system still has appeal, because there was nothing like it before or since. Between 1983 and 1991 the spectrum ruled me and my elder bro's life, he on the 48k and me on the 128k when I got older......man those were great carefree days!
Ромашка 1941 (1 year ago)
I agree completely - I always felt there was some "madness within" with some of those games.. Thanks for confirming my suspicions. :)
Nostalgia Nerd (2 years ago)
+swordghoti Spot on. Crazy games which let you run amok
WatchReadPlayRetro (2 years ago)
@ 2:42 after re-watching my bluray of Prometheus only last night, I do wish they had made the silly alien ship crash that simply. No rolling along wackyness, just a nice simple but solid crash like in Freddy Hardest! Great stuff, and I appreciate in this modern age how big The Trap Door sprites were! And I have finally gotten to see Peter Packrat! =) Thanks for this great look-at!
Nostalgia Nerd (2 years ago)
+WatchReadPlayRetro Haha, yes! Freddy Hardest had it right from the start! Peter Packrat.... it's awesome, no?
Mountain Bear outdoors (3 years ago)
thanks for the videos really enjoyed learning about the speccy (I was brought up with commodore plus 4 and 64)
Nostalgia Nerd (3 years ago)
+keithpeckett No problemo! I'm sorry to hear you weren't brought up with a Speccy as well, but hey, the 64 makes up for it ;)
ZAYZOOZAYZOO (3 years ago)
There is a NEW ZX Spectrum called the "ZX Spectrum Recreated" just released September 2015, that is a bluetooth spectrum that conects to your tablet/phone/tv ect. Long live the specky.
madcapoperator (3 years ago)
Gunfighter! By the shaw brothers. One of which is a very good family friend of mine :)
Nostalgia Nerd (3 years ago)
+madcapoperator Cool! Yeah, great, great game. Love it
Relo (3 years ago)
I love your videos
Nostalgia Nerd (3 years ago)
+relo999 Thanks man :D
Odd Pod (3 years ago)
great vid :)
Tonio Miklo (3 years ago)
Spy vs. Spy. Man!! And Gauntlet!! That damn coin hog from the mid-Eighties. You had to queue up to play the damn machine at the arcade hall!! Didn't know there was a Spectrum version. That machine really could work miracles.
Nostalgia Nerd (3 years ago)
+Tonio Miklo It sure could. So hard though, so very, very hard
Kee Lo (3 years ago)
Great series :) I loved Gauntlet too, but the dragons used to scare me LOL I'll be looking out for your next videos sounds like some interesting stuff coming up ;)
LJW1912 (3 years ago)
Music? Good God!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.