HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: The Dave Cullen Show

Avengers Infinity War Review (Spoilers)

992 ratings | 16737 views
Support my work on Patreon: http://ow.ly/3ymWFu Support my work on MakerSupport: http://ow.ly/pJjS100RXtS PayPal Donations Welcome. Click here: http://goo.gl/NSdOvK SUBSCRIBE TO THIS YOUTUBE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDVb4m_5QHhZElT47E1oODg KEEP UP ON SOCIAL MEDIA: BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/hybM74uIHJKf/ Gab: https://gab.ai/DaveCullen Minds.com: https://www.minds.com/davecullen
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (493)
Fab🎃 (15 hours ago)
While admittedly the humor was intrusive during the first act, it’s almost like the directors said, “ok we’ve gotten that out of the way” because by the second act, there little to no humor. The movie does take itself a lot more serious
Jon Son (4 days ago)
Infinity war was very entertaining and Dave is right, the only interesting character was Thanos. If anybody wanna invest into a superhero series with actual plot and character development, i highly suggest "my hero academia".
Rory Morris (5 days ago)
in short it was a load of bollox
Laslo C (6 days ago)
I agree with you Dave, It's too much CGI and It's not cinematic, It's like cartoons, too infantile. I don't understand why It goes to cinemas, It should be on kids TV channels.
Travis Crist (15 days ago)
The only way a movie like this can work, is for the makers to lean on the idea that you've seen the other movies and have got story and character development from them. I was actually very happy I didnt have to sit through dialogue for people seeing their first marvel movie. This is an over the top payoff film for the fans. When you have 30+ main characters in a movie, there HAS to be certain aspects left out.
Travis Crist (15 days ago)
Thor, rocket, and groot didnt go to get the reality stone.
Capgang channel (29 days ago)
This was a great movie
Mark Fogarty (1 month ago)
You should really give guardians of the galaxy...it’s probably my favorite film..great humor in it too
Seth Nico (1 month ago)
This film will be pretty dumb and confusing to people who haven’t seen the rest of the MCU. To people who have seen the rest of the MCU and are massive fans of it, this film is one of the best comic book movies ever made. So I definitely recommend that you watch the other 18 or 19 Marvel films. I’ve lost track of how many there are.
The Coolio (1 month ago)
Can you please please please do a deep review of the movie Cloud Atlas. Id really love to hear what you have to say about it.
oONeMesiS0o (1 month ago)
One of the few time I disagreed with you Dave. Love your work though. Thanks for all your hard work
Christopher Ramsey (1 month ago)
The genius behind this movie was that it understood all its characters in a way most movies can’t even do with a few characters.
GrandKai9 (1 month ago)
No offence, but you reviewed this movie as a stand alone movie, which if fine. But that leaves you not just a little disconnected but a lot disconnected. The emotional growth, and connection to the other characters comes from their movies. IE as my daughter was so upset when Spider man, and Groot died, as these where he favorite characters that came from watching the other series Marvel did an absolutely amazing job of creating a universe and building up to this moment with each installment of every movie. They even planed it out on a perfect scale where yes hero fatigue is setting in but the franchise is rapping up. So as i appreciate your perspective, its not one of a whole, but a snap shot. Whats amazing is they did such a good job, you didn't have to see all the others to enjoy this movie, let that sink in. Now you also missed key elements, for instance doctor strange gave up his stone willingly, but as he ran through every timeline possible he only came up with one scenario where they won. To win they had to loose first, but it doesn't come across this way. Also Thanous as you say doesn't seem like the typical villain is what makes him so great. Hes not an evil man, but is doing so out of love, and compassion as this is what destroyed his home planet. Although he doesn't believe that the world is too over populated, he believes it cant sustain to keep growing. But as I said your point of view, it wasn't just shill chalk up, it was a perspective of someone that didn't fallow the narrative. That alone is refreshing.
bobo577 (1 month ago)
The writing, acting and direction for the movie is good and Infinity War is a movie I have warmed up to but what destroys the emotional core of the ending was me making the mistake of reading the Infinity Gauntlet story before watching the movie. The character deaths due to the finger snap will be undone in Avengers 4. It doesn’t help that this movie was originally advertised as Infinity War Part 1.
i am hoping they make the sequel be about Thanos seeing all the pain and anarchy he has caused and realise that he was wrong so he could take it back (via the time stone) or even better, pull the thing Wakfu did and destroy all possibility for him to take it back, or anyone for that matter and that destroys him... i will be very pissed if captn murica punches him, takes the gauntlet and all is fixed, but im hoping they wont go the easy route, maybe it will be a turning point for the mcu? fingers crossed!
also if anyone is interessed to check out Wakfu i highly suggest it, its a cute french cartoon but it has character development and the greatest villains i have ever seen! the one i was talking about -spoilers if you want to watch the show - is Nox, a clockmaker who finds a weird little blue box. through tests he also finds out that the box has enough wakfu (the in-universe "life energy") to power up any device for maybe even infinity! we later find out the cube is an ailien artifact and it can think and even talk. he starts talking to the cube, it giving him ideas of grandeur, that if he finds enough life energy he can go back in time etc etc.. but! he spent so much time in his workshop, not eating, not sleeping, his family got more worried every day until one day they moved out in hopes he will abandon the cube and come with them. he of course doesnt notice and when the landlord comes he is surprised and tells him how his wife and children died in a massive flood that struck the area they moved to. he then went mad and started killing people so he could get more wakfu so he could go back in time. the hero, Yugo, actually doesnt even stop him because the cube is stubborn and instead of going back 200 years (in which Nox collected wakfu and the cube kept him alive) it went back 20 minutes. he then breaks into tears because all the evil hes caused he thought he will take back and it destroyed him. he then killed himself by severing his ties with the cube and turning to ash. it would be so refreshing if the mcu did something like this, it would be totally different from their other movies, that i enjoy, dont get me wrong, but are really stale :/
Igor Wojtyna (1 month ago)
Why didn’t thanos just use the infinity stones to double the resources of the universe ?
kimmie (1 month ago)
I thought this was the worst marvel film so far. I could barely sit through this shit.
Ian Random (1 month ago)
I really enjoyed the Marvel Agent Carter series and would recommend you take a look.
Edward Gibbon (2 months ago)
I would assume Dave Cullen's fans have a LITTLE more brains than most people.... but the backlash when he states his honest opinion is crazy. I worry that conservatives are more sheep-like than the left when I see comments here. "CARTOONS ARE VALID" yeah, but they have this "cheap", too-much-popcorn feeling. "NO YOU CANT HAVE THAT OPINION BECAUSE REASON XYZ LETS BAN TOGETHER WITH UPVOTES TO MAKE THAT LEGIT"
Edward Gibbon (2 months ago)
Complete disbelief how fanboy-esque people are. You can't understand why people may not love this same movie over and over? You aren't tired of these films yet? I'm serious, every time I try one I go in with high hopes, and then just WISH I was high so I could enjoy it. It's also all about collectivism, these films. No one even redeems themselves in an interesting way - the lessons learned by the characters are always collectivist, tribal, cliche.
kimmie (1 month ago)
You are absolutely right. The first iron man was the only decent marvel film. The rest of them are just the same recycled, shallow bullshit.
Edward Gibbon (2 months ago)
Don't downvote just because you're a marvel fanboy. Dave gave it positive remarks also right from the get go. That's more than fair. I've been seeing these movies as samey, cheesmo, forgettable cartoony rubbish for many films now. I'm not sure how that's not obvious - again, disagree with the review, but downvoting it? Makes me lose faith in humanity.
Sarah Dain (2 months ago)
DUDE! Gotta see Dr. Strange & Ragnarok. They're the best of all of them. I just enjoyed Your & Jeremy Jahns spoilers, without seeing or caring to see the actual movie. Good review, but you missed the best 2.
javed lakhan (2 months ago)
These characters have been developed over the last decade, there was no need for any more development. This was Thanos' movie and he was in a sense the star of the film, not any of the Avengers.
Currupt Angel (2 months ago)
I liked infinity war but only as a fun, acrion movie. The drama and risks and so on didn't sell for me. I held the same thoughts as you: this is a fun popcorn movie to watch and relax to. But the moment you start really thinking about it, it falls apart. This works for infinity war because it's a fun movie, a comic book movie at its core.
The Blacksmyth (2 months ago)
Man... maybe poeple just enjoy a super hero movie where superheroes punch villains on the face? I mean that's the whole point of super heroes... no? Good guys and bad guys duking it out? I mean if i wanted a deep philosophical movie i would go watch Donnie Darko or something... Js
Dave (2 months ago)
At some point after the first Avengers movie, I started turning my brain off to go see these movies. I lowered my expectations greatly and I managed to enjoy most of them. Thing is, there is not much rewatch value in these films, mindless action, extensive use of CGI, underdeveloped characters... but I was pleasantly surprised after watching Infinity War, to the point of watching ot two more times in theathers. It still has all the sins of the previous movies but the Russo brothers make it work. They put high stakes on the story and manage to make you invested in cartoon puppets fighting other cartoon puppets. They showed a lot of understanding of each character and it was revealed through dialogue and their interactions. For me, the biggest flaw was the Battle of Wakanda and the overpowered nature of the gauntlet, which was of course depowered so our heros had a chance, but it was a fun viewing experience with a little more substance than other summer blockbusters.
f11122 (2 months ago)
Thanos=Elpresador
Ivan Krylov (2 months ago)
The movie did have one central protagonist, Thanos. He goes through all of the steps of the hero's journey, has a goal, and faces trials to reach them. The moral good guys, the Avengers, act as the antagonists to stop him. Overall I liked this aspect the most.
Dizzy247365plus (2 months ago)
Kind of like the cheeseburger I ate last night???? Kind of tasty but forgettable???? Setting aside the fact that this is a fantasy genre, which modern CGI now seems to inspire a knee jerk contempt for, the visual feats accomplished in this thing--many of which HAVE NEVER BEEN ATTEMPTED OR ACHIEVED with this much success, were anything but forgettable. As for fights scenes being forgettable, that's just ASININE in the face of the opening moments in the film. The HULK, a character portrayed on-screen CONSISTENTLY AS A WEAPON OF MASS DESTRUCTION AND LAST RESORT--IS VISCERALLY AND SOUNDLY BEATEN AND RENDERED UNCONSCIOUS BY THANOS IN SECONDS. And whether you follow these films or not OR their source material, The Hulk's reputation fairly precedes him, thus making THAT particular fight scene extremely memorable. It is my opinion that this review is jaundiced and somewhat prejudicial. I would never tell you to "get over it" or say "it's just a movie" or "ur taking it too seriously" because I find those rebuttals repugnant. I will say that without the advanced cgi of today, no audience member could emotionally invest in anything shown on screen. These concepts DO NOT WORK without them. All anyone need do is try to watch the MARVEL live-action adaptations of the 1970s and the point is profoundly made. Fantasy has ALWAYS required suspension of disbelief, and if the number of things shown on screen make u balk simply because you know THEY ARE NOT THERE (and the only reason u know they're not there is because they CANNOT POSSIBLY EXIST) then I cannot see how you can fairly judge the weight and meat of the story being presented on-screen. A story that was a culmination of years of planning and WORLD BUILDING. BTW, that last bit is why Thanos is more focused on than the heroes. The film-makers kind of expect you to already be invested in the heroes... because of all that world building. It ain't Shakespeare bruh, but quite frankly...it ain't simply A CARTOON either.
embir82 (2 months ago)
I disagree with you but your point about humour is an interesting observation. Good review, gave me food for thought!
Vladimir Ussachevsky (2 months ago)
I like your videos and agree with lets just say 75% of your opinions, more on some less on others. I think the fact that you missed Ragnarok, Dr Strange, both Guardians and Black Panther leads me to believe you have no real investment in the universe or have any love for the characters. Following plot points and developing interest in characters over time are much different. I think you just don’t give a shit about the MCU so I don’t give a shit about your opinion on this one. Call me butt hurt thats fine. This is one of the best interpretations of a Comic book into movie ever. A grand feat in my opinion. If you want character development watch the other films.Thanos and Gamora are the main characters and at the heart of the film I agree on that. I say bring on the utility and cgi because thats what we want. Sit down and read a stack of comics Dave and it might all become more clear. And this suspending of disbelief you added is bs... this is a absurd comical fun and cool movie that plays on many of our base reactions and not forgotten childhood ideas about simplicity and justice. Again its based on comic books. I also don’t eat popcorn. I watch all kinds of movies and film, Louis Malle, Federico Fellini and George Miller to Rich Moore, Alex Garland and Denis Villeneuve and have found to really enjoy movies is to learn to take them for what they are and sometimes it helps to take your head out of your own ass haha...if you even read this I like your videos I like many types of people with various opinions. Loved the Family Guy assessment, spot on!
vincentgraymore (2 months ago)
Thor goes on a "private" journey and gains both nihilism, a new hammer and a lust for vengeance. One could say that he has no character development but his need to beat Thanos and gloat made Thanos able to avoid dying. Tony learns of the loss of a child as a father as he basically sees spiderman as his son. He clearly wants to be a dad as evidenced early in the movie. Banner learns to fight without the hulk even if his fight is more of a luck fight than power fight.
Phylosophar (2 months ago)
I have to agree with Dave, people in the comment section keep saying "the character development happens in between the movies" but let's be honest though, the only movie where Tony developed as a character was the first Iron Man, The one where Captain America developed somehow as a character was Winter Soldier. Thor saying that he "lost so much" had little to no meaning to me, every impactful death in Thor Ragnarok felt meaningless since the movie was busy with the "comedy"(the movie was unfunny as hell). Also Thanos' idea of "solving" overpopulation was idiotic as hell, it's a theory that was debunked more than a century ago.
Michelle L (2 months ago)
Use the fucking portals!!! They know this works because they cut his arm off yet when it comes time cto use it the plot makes them all stupid. That stupid part with them running around with sticks and yelling how did they not all die there?
Andrew Paint (2 months ago)
As a Comic book fan and Marvel movie fan, I find this movie is somewhat anti-climactic...
Andrew Paint (2 months ago)
in Marvel movie, actors are actually need to a lot acting skills. HaHaHa~~~
Xenovista (2 months ago)
All I need to know is: IS IT SJW BULLSHIT OR NOT. If not, I'll rent it.
Culler Collectibles (2 months ago)
The Russo brothers said this movie was about Thanos. Which is how it came off, you have to be a fan of these movies and funny understand our heroes before seeing this movie in order to fully grasp Infinity War.
I really enjoy my Marvel based movies. I think they're awesome and Infinity war is no exception. True the characters can't grow, but they already have in their previous stand alone movies. This is where Justice League fails (though I enjoyed that one too.) Only two characters have a stand alone film and Batman is a newer version of the Dark Knight. Cyborg, Flash, Aquaman, all should have had a stand alone film before the JL was released.
semi cath (2 months ago)
Thanos was definitely the best part and I really did enjoy the film. Its not super intellectual but its very well done.
StevenGaspard (2 months ago)
I disagree. This movie evoked genuine emotion. Calling it fast food is not accurate. A movie still can be excellent with a basic plot. It's like saying a piece of art can't be a masterpiece because the artist only used colored pencils. In other words, it's just your opinion, man
Nicholas DePofi (2 months ago)
Yes! Exactly, it was focused on Thanos.
Leinad R. (2 months ago)
Thanos was really the one true character of this flick. The only one who got background and enough screentime without making dumb jokes. He was also the only part i liked about this movie, and the reason, why i won't watch the next. For me it is over with this movie: avengers dead, and a real character wins.
yoav cohen (2 months ago)
Avangers Infinity War is a cheesy, boring and idiotic movie. The only good thing in the movie is Thanos, and yet he is not deep enough. Where are the movies like Batman The Dark Knight, which was a blockbuster but a great and deep film? Hollywood ain't worth shit anymore.
WallyWinka (2 months ago)
At this point, character development is not needed(with the exception of Thanos), as that was the purpose of ALL of the previous movies introducing these characters. Now..NOW a story can be told to the fullest, without having to distract with back-stories and unnecessary side-plots.
Sam Judge (2 months ago)
Isles of dogs to me is a heck lot better film then infinity Wars, as I could not care anything happened at all to the Marvel film, yet I got teary eye alittle and cared on clay animated dogs with the driest voice acting I herd in years.
Mike R (2 months ago)
Sadly, you're right. Several years ago the Marvel movies had deeper plots, more genuine emotional content and character development. The three Iron Man movies were consistently good, the first Thor was good. But in my opinion, The Dark World went down the path of elbowing out emotive and thoughtful scenes in favor of more special effects and action. The Winter Soldier had a very involved plot, but Civil War had less time for that with so many characters and fight scenes. I had seen Iron Man twice as well as The Avengers, because there was so much to take in, you went home and would dwell on those movies. Now they seem to be just theme park rides meant to keep kids occupied without too much plot so the audience doesn't have to think too much. It's unfortunate because all the actors are perfect for their roles but they are not being given enough film time to actually perform because of increasing action and special effects scenes. However I have to say that as a Marvel Comics reader who has the Warlock series from the 70's, the character of Thanos was presented remarkably well. Perhaps even better than in the comics, very emotive, very well fleshed out, with many deep and compelling scenes. By his viewpoint, he was the hero of this story, and everyone else who tried to stop him was simply unable to understand his plan.
SkepTorr (2 months ago)
The reason you think it was disconnected is the result of you missing out the other films. Imagine watching only the end of "Lock stock and 2 smoking barrels", where all the sub stories converge. This film is the culmination of 10 years of story telling, as a sort of a final act, and that's the only way to watch and enjoy it... and it was GODDAMN perfect!
Sir Denzington (2 months ago)
I really liked infinity war. I do recommend you see Ragnarok and the guardians of the galaxy movies and then watch it again. I’d say those 3 are required as long as you’ve seen most of the other ones
Spartan155 (2 months ago)
I agree with everything you said....BUT I still love it and the other Marvel movies lol. I think it matters what the goal was, this is as you say the fast food of movies and it hits that mark perfectly. It didn't blur for me, but you're right there's no major plot points to talk about EXCEPT discussing what Dr Strange's plan was. He gave up the time stone intentionally at the perfect moment because he knew there was exactly 1 future where they ultimately win and how many times was the time stone used in the film? For exactly one purpose SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS:::To bring Vision's body back. My theory, Vision's personality was successfully separated from the Mind stone in Wakanda and is still in the dead body and will somehow become Adam Warlock for the finale.
Joaquin Machado (2 months ago)
The protagonist was Thanos. That was the intent.
Freddo Productions (2 months ago)
How many more superheroes can we take in a movie?
TheLifeOnHigh (2 months ago)
When you said you didn’t watch Thor Ragnaroc, Doctor Strange, Black Panther and both Guardians of the Galaxy films I STOPPED the fucking video. 🙄 For realz brah?
Bane Pepe (2 months ago)
It's become a hipster move to dog Marvel now. If you don't like the films anymore, don't pay to see them. That's stupid.
Zar Shardan (3 months ago)
Are you watching The Expanse? What do you think about it?
81ackman (3 months ago)
Loved the film, does he not know these are based on comics?
Richard Wallberg (3 months ago)
Sometimes I feel it should be law that any form of media should be interrupted every ten to thirty seconds for a big booming voice and big yellow letters just saying "THINK!"
James Davis (3 months ago)
I agree that most of the movie audience will just see this how you saw this, as an cgi action fest. But to those who have seen all the movies would disagree on some of your points. Some of the characters motivations or actions are set up in earlier films and aren’t as simple as this movie portrays them. Peter quill and Thor in particular make key tactical decisions that have emotional depth that are set up in previous films. The people who are critical of the film seem to be the ones who haven’t seen all the previous ones which set this one up. Yes, people who haven’t seen all the other films probably feel the same way you do. Hell a lot of people probably rewatched all the previous one with a new perspective knowing how the universe ends up, some were probably lost at that time but with history you get a better perspective.
I love spoilers!
Erwin Rommel (3 months ago)
You dont really need the movie to make you invest into these charcters or develop them because there were movies that did just that. It is Thanos who should you really be invested in as this is pretty much his movie despite being the villain.
AkuTenshiiZero (3 months ago)
You really have to stop looking at the MCU like normal movies, they've changed the rules of the game. This isn't just "a movie." It's a series finale for what amounts to a serialized TV show on the big screen. You cannot just extract one "episode" and review it in a vacuum, there is just too much inter-connectivity, too many continuing plots. For example, how would anyone know who Red Skull is without having seen the first Capt. America movie? You get no explanation in A:IW, not even his name, you are expected to have seen the previous film. This isn't a flaw in the films, either, it's the primary feature, we like the rewarding feeling of following a story that doubles back and rewards us for remembering something that happened several films ago.
James Ken (3 months ago)
Pretentious snob.
Linda Kek (3 months ago)
Thanos had to thin out all the Knuckles running around asking "do you know de wae?" They were driving him crazy.
Enderman_of_D00M (3 months ago)
Someone has not watched every other Marvel movie...
P B (3 months ago)
Well I know everyone might trash you for this review but I gotta say one thing is unarguably true. Death got no meaning on this movie. How in earth does the audience expect those characters vanish while there are movies of them to go on screen for next year or so. Trying to make you cry over the death of character is real cringe!!!
Jeremy D (3 months ago)
The comic books, which many of these stories come from, have characters already developed, and the stories are just new, challenging situations. Yet people read them every month. I don't see why we can't apply the same criteria of hero comics to hero movies. In stories like Infinity War/Gauntlet and Secret Wars, you have dozens of superheroes sharing scenes, with some of them just in the background given no dialogue. That's due to the nature of the enormous cross-title event. No one expects everyone to get significant panel time. That's not the purpose of such an event. Yet even with all that said, in these movies, Marvel still manages to let everyone shine at least a little, and in a consistent manner of their character(though their weaknesses are what usually throw a wrench in the works, making things interesting). And we like to see these superheroes do what they do best, whether that's to be strong, dynamic, clever, or funny. Infinity War delivers in all of that. The fight scenes were distinct. The interaction of famous characters meeting for the first time was fun. The villain was genuinely interesting. There's a unique(to Marvel movies at least) sense of dread from the very opening scene to the end. The whole thing was really quite an accomplishment.
Daniel Moyle (3 months ago)
I have to disagree with almost everything you said in this video... Did we even watch the same film..???
Sheeerperfection (3 months ago)
That’s got to be one of the worst reviews I’ve ever seen...
Sheeerperfection (3 months ago)
‘Little to no originality or story’ I couldn’t disagree more. A crossover event of this scale has never been attempted before on the big screens and the story has been building up in countless other MCU films since the first avengers, and it delivered spectacularly.
Connor Nicholas (3 months ago)
I enjoyed the movie and love listening to other people’s thoughts on it.
Denker Bosu (3 months ago)
It think you are so sick of over eating hamburguers, that you couldn't focus and missed a lot in the movie. Also, Scarlet Witch and Vision got character development.
Csanad Horvath (3 months ago)
I recommend watching Dr Strange. I'm not a marvel fan but I really enjoyed it... Strangely it doesn't even have too much SJW bs. The villain is quite shallow but the hero has a nice arc.
Mac Mcleod (3 months ago)
It may not stay with you and you may barely remember it a few hours later. But there is a bitter intellectualist taste to many of your videos. I still see many people discussing the film and the significance of the character, moral, and artistic choices of the film (see MovieBob's video on the character folks dislike kinda unfairly in Infinity Wars and his comment section). I disagree with Moviebob at times but man, he really comes across with good, well thought out points. Humor me... what makes you really happy? Whatever it is- I think you should do more of it because when I hear your work here, I don't hear happiness or joy. As I enter my golden years, in my experience if you pursue a bitter life you will find one.
J. Joseph Messenger (3 months ago)
This film can only be appreciated by those who have seen Thor Ragnorak, Dr. Strange, Civil War, Homecoming, and Guardians 1 and 2. Great acting, great effects, great character interaction, great humor, great entertainment. Is it Shakespeare? No. But there is real emotional impact to be found in this film. Thanos isn't completely evil... he is a fanatical zealot, who believes himself to be a universal savior. He loves Gamora, much to her surprise, and her misfortune. Thor is driven by the loss of most everything he held dear. The audience thirsts for his revenge. The heroism and self sacrifice of most of the characters is like some ancient epic myth... where demi gods and evil forces battled for supremacy. As a result, it has more meat on it's bones than most comic book films. It's a good ride.
GreenMachine (3 months ago)
Loved it. I was very entertained. As great as Thanos was, I did have one gripe about him, his motivation. I prefer his comic book motivator, pleasing Death over this population control narrative. I'm not sure how they could gloss over that part of his character, his whole existence has always been motivated by winning over the heart and approval of the mistress Death. Plus I was really hoping we'd get to see a live action MCU interpretation of her. I'm hoping we still might.
Timeyin Binitie (3 months ago)
Dave is such a snob
John Miller (3 months ago)
If you put it that way, it sounds kind of ridiculous.
Papa palpatine (3 months ago)
pretty much any movie stark is in its about him half universe population gets blown off and stark is still alive he has nano tech now he could have just injected thanos with it
LemonZeppelin (3 months ago)
I thought it was pretty good. And I haven't even seen the first two. Though I agree that there were a LOT of characters to the point of little to no character development.
Allan Desmond (3 months ago)
you miss the point, English is less than 50% of the gross.. the more clever an "well written " dialogue becomes to hard to translate to the rest of the world....its Show Business, Not art..
Bill Westfall (3 months ago)
Agree it was a pretty fun amusement park ride of a movie, not exactly Shakespeare
jesperFrost (3 months ago)
Funny is also that thanos pure logic argument for killing half of all life is not being challenged with other than, you can’t do that! I was thinking, but what thanos is saying is true and there was no counter argument...so.... 1 - 0 to thanos!
Nick Burk (3 months ago)
Wait... Did Thor go to nowhere? (2:50)
ArtCreativz (3 months ago)
The characters were utilized very effectively for such a large cast.
Ragatokk (3 months ago)
Kinda sad how I have only got 6 of your last 15 videos from this channel in my feed.
K_C_K (3 months ago)
an other disney movie, an other cheeseburger ... keep off fast food and be healthier
Stephen64138 (3 months ago)
The last movie i get to see at the movie theater was The Hobbit I (in 2010?)... I was so disapointed, I swear to myself I never go again see a movie. ... When I see what they make these days, I feel like I did the good thing...
StuffedAnimalAdvisor (3 months ago)
I enjoyed justice league more for these reasons. Still enjoyed part one, butnjustice league game me a whole movie
Todd Curtis (3 months ago)
"There's simply too many character in this movie" This is why you need to watch all the previous MCU movies even the ones you don't think are important or relevant, do that and then you can make a proper review.
Andrew Capone (3 months ago)
'Big budget cartoons'? You mean bug budget comic book? That's exactly what this is, an on screen comic book. Highly entertaining but not a classic movie. For me, the whole avengers movie franchise is extension to the Thor story. Thor was the hero of this movie for me. You just watch Ragnarok. It's my favourite marvel movies so far. I think there is a lot of character development. Great action and Thor is awesome in it.
Booshman (3 months ago)
It's like you watched the first few episodes of a TV show, then missed a bunch, and came in to watch the season finale. Of course you aren't invested, and there is no time to get you caught up. You don't know several of the characters, and the ones you do know aren't where you left them. It also sounds like this isn't even the sort of thing you want to watch anyway, so why bother?
Mark Klose (3 months ago)
So you missed all the lead up films. Hmmm.... you seem to have gone full film school. Never go full film school
Stealthy Octopus (3 months ago)
I do have a lot of problems with the MCU and specifically how they use comedy but I still heavily disagree with the review. One point that stood out to me is death. I think they've specifically tried not to take that too far. There have not been that many revivals I feel like some people just put what they know (or most likely just heard) about comic book deaths and revivals on to Marvel movies. Yes Loki has appeared to die three times now but that plays into his role as a trickster god and who else is there? Maybe two other characters have died and come back over the course of nearly 20 movies and a dozen shows. At least in cases where the audience was ever supposed to believe it. Even then I think in Loki's case along with Red Skull they left plenty of clues that they survived. At least until Infinity War with Loki. It seemed like everything revolving around him in the movie was trying to cement the idea that he is truly dead this time. Like it was a message to the audience that the third times the charm for Loki and nobody is safe in this story.
Royston Yinkore (3 months ago)
The other characters have all been built up in their solo movies and we've had journeys with them. This was an "Avengers" movie
Joshua Kent (3 months ago)
1) The main character was meant to be Thanos. He had the most screen time, that was who the movie was about, and he was the character you were meant to understand though his motivations. 2) If there was no humor in the film, fans would not have survived the film. The jokes calmed us down from the disaster that was taking place. 3) Also, the film does centralise three Avengers, namely Tony, Thor and Gamora. They had the next most screen time 4) HOW WOULD YOU MAKE THIS MOVIE WITHOUT CGI?!?! 5) There is character development, but it's happened over the course of several movies. That's why you needed to watch the standalone movies first. 6) you can't say it isn't original without specifying what would classify as original. Because I would use this as an example. 7) This film essentially brings a crossover comic to life. It is amazing that this film even exists. They have done something no one else has ever done before, accumulate 17 years worth of movies towards an end goal
Dc watcher (3 months ago)
They have always said thanos is the main character
Huron .Blackheart (3 months ago)
"Death has little-to-no impact" - Apart from Thanos saying"no resurrections this time" and Thor saying "This time I think he really might be dead." "The film doesn't focus on any one particular superhero..." - No because Thanos is the protagonist, it's his film, follow Thanos' story arc and it's basically the same as that of most of the superheroes in their own movies.The Avengers are the antagonists to Thanos' plan, they're not the protagonists.
Barry Gormley (3 months ago)
Dave, you really are missing out if you haven't seen any of the Marvel Netflix series. The movies are good for what they are, but the writing and character development is so much better on the web-series that it's actually kind of hard to believe they're meant to take place in the same universe. Daredevil in particular is one of the best shows I have ever seen and Jessica Jones and Luke Cage are definitely worth checking out as well, but even if you decided to watch all of them it wouldn't take that long. Six shows with seasons ranging from 8-13 episodes, and because of the unusually long gaps between seasons, 4/6 haven't even gotten beyond season 1 yet.
Ronald Raygun (3 months ago)
They "took themselves too seriously" (as you so pretentiously put it) and made the heroes a part of the supporting cast because they had already spent 18 years developing their damn characters. They took a rather bold turn and made thanos the main character of this film (as made obvious by the "thanos will return" caption at the end of the film) instead of using the kind of redundant character development story archs that you'd of liked that's already been done in a previous solo film. Anybody, who walked into the theater expecting a stand-alone film was woefully ignorant and had false expectations. You literally said that you hadn't seen "Doctor Strange" or "Thor Ragnarok" and then went on to mention the resurrection of previous characters making death in the MCU less sad, telling me that you saw thor 2. So what I'm gathering from that is you've seen the shit films like iron man 3 and thor 2, but not good ones like guardians of the galaxy or doctor strange (granted, guardians doesn't usually have great plot but I do think they have good character development and world building). If I'd only seen those films I'd walk in expecting to be butthurt too. Furthermore, despite the fact that this film was never meant to be any kind of standalone and certainly didn't need to be, it was a standalone. As you said, it was easy to follow (disputing your earlier claim that the movie felt disconnected), but, more importantly, Josh Brolin did an excellent job as thanos. The movie did follow a specific character and moved along towards a coherently produced apocalyptic end. Ultimately, this movie did not need to be all that it was. It met reasonable expectations for an ensemble movie with the massive amounts of, I think, memorable action (A. what's the point of building a superhero universe if not for having big action B. whats the point in having so many sequels if they don't lead to anything worthy of being called a 'summer blockbuster') and even added in character development for the villain, something not even the new blade runner movie did with any quality, making it a standalone in it's own respect. I'll say here what I said on Crowder's thread about this, you can't go into the theater expecting large amounts of character development in an ensemble movie like expendables or the avengers. You'd be massively disappointed because those are false expectations from confusion of genre. It'd be like going into the theater to see "the notebook" and expecting suspense. Character development is not the only thing that makes a movie good. There is the score, the action, the acting, and I think Infinite War did an exceptional job on many of those fronts. Suspension of disbelief really hit me hard this time as Cullen's videos are typically well-informed, but this was an exception. There were issues with the film. Cullen talks about the overuse of CGI. An example of this would be the supporting villains, many of which could've been done with practical effects and would have looked way better. Instead we had to watch videogame cutscenes in a few instances. There is also the fact that they killed off all of the new avengers, something that doesn't make sense given most of the ones who died have sequels on the way. This makes the deaths less emotional and makes me more skeptical. Other than that though this film was overwhelming good by the standards of an ensemble film. If someone doesn't believe me, one only needs to watch the "Justice League" or "Age of Ultron" films to see how villains can be seemingly harmless and the plots for ensemble movies can be an incoherent mess. Granted I liked them both, but they were indeed objectively mediocre and should've been good; they should've been more like infinite war.
TentaclePentacle (3 months ago)
Yeah everything Dave said about the movie is true, but his problem is that he hadn't seen any of the previous MCU movies. Seeing the previous movies is a requirement if you want to enjoy this movie. There is no emotional impact because you haven't connected with the heroes in previous movies.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.